March 28, 2024, 10:35:25 PM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..

Author Topic: SOLVED - Kernel boot options removed by fault, no boot options  (Read 10687 times)

Offline cdt

Hello Everyone,

First of all, I highly appreciate all Linux forum members and whole Linux community. ;). I wish you the best for all of you !

I will try to be short and concise: I am using Linux Mint 10 for 2 months on 2 ws, and all went good so far (Vbox, developing, Unix scripting, etc); I am not a very beginner in UNIX, having some skills in PHP/MYSQL/APACHE/BASH/LINUX - WIN/BATCH as well (several years, let's say).

But what is happening now, :( is putting me into a trouble: yesterday I have performed some wifi kernel modules installation with Synaptic and some new kernel were added to boot menu, some of them with --recovery option, some of them new ones. Uninstalling these last wifi modules (and probably another ones), all kernel modules (including the current (and good) one were uninstalled, of course, they disappeared from the boot menu as well).

I agree that was totally my fault because I have installed wifi modules which have required kernel recompiling, but I dd not know then the full image of this disaster.

In the last open session (just before reboot), I have seen that all kernel images/module disapperared from /root folder, /vmlinuz file disappeared too; of course using GUI boot loader, I have observed only 2 Memory test options and the M$Win OS (the second OS installed).

My issue now is: I would like to repair the previous Mint 10 installation, no to reinstall because it is taking some time to reparameter all settings .. if it is possible.

CURRENT STATUS:
> I have a Linux Mint 10 burned disk (this one where I typing these lines);
> wired/wireless network on;
> all partitions are not changed
> Linux Mint boot menu has only 2 Mem test option + 1 M$Win OS boot option
> Old Linux kernel definitions is missing from boot menu as well as from:
/root folder