June 13, 2024, 10:08:38 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Squid Error Urgent  (Read 4047 times)

Offline vlinux1

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Squid Error Urgent
« on: April 06, 2005, 03:15:32 PM »
Hello Ricky & Gaurav

I delete  (DIR)squid  from  /usr/local/squid/etc/squid.conf
now i want  to run squid from by default file .i configured all the parameters but when trying to start squid its giving below error.
please tell me what is error.


[root@root]# /etc/init.d/squid start

Starting squid: /etc/init.d/squid: line 162:  1068 Aborted                 $SQUID $SQUID_OPTS 2>/dev/null
                                                           
[FAILED]

Offline gauravbajaj

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
Squid Error Urgent
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2005, 04:08:08 AM »
Just make entry in /etc/hosts file
open /etc/hosts file
make entry like this:
192.168.2.180                          mycomputer
  { Change 192.168.2.180 to  ur ip-address & mycompuet to ur computername)...
if u dont know abt ur computer name ...
type
#hostname
it willl show u ur computer name

After that restart squid service...
It will work after that..
Gaurav

Offline vlinux1

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Squid Error Urgent
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2005, 02:29:53 PM »
Hi Gaurav

Thanks for reply.
I made below entry in /etc/hosts

# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1       localhost localdomain
192.168.100.199 ns1

but still problem not solved. I am getting this error when starting squid.
                                                                                                                             
[root@ns1root]# /etc/init.d/squid restart
Stopping squid: /etc/init.d/squid: line 162:  1161 Aborted                 $SQUID -k check >/dev/null 2>&1
                                                           [FAILED]
Starting squid: /etc/init.d/squid: line 162:  1162 Aborted                 $SQUID $SQUID_OPTS 2>/dev/null
                                                           [FAILED]

What is the problem.

thanks in advance
vijay

Offline gauravbajaj

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
Squid Error Urgent
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2005, 05:09:17 AM »
This is most common pb....

I think u didn't specify correct entry
open ur /etc/hosts file

# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain   localhost
192.168.100.199                                        ns1
 {In that file ur hostname i.e  ns1(your hostname) must be below localhost  not below localhost.localdomain...,  but the lines which i wrote above looks like that ns1 is below localhost.localdomain but it is not so i.e it is below localhost)

Also in ur previous post u omitted or deleted by mistakenly localhost..., i.e
make the enry like above...i.e localhost must be there  after localhost.localdoain...

or u can give entry like this also this is another method

127.0.0.1   localhost.localdomain    localhost  ns1

U can speciify or choose any above methods to make the entry


1 thing more if u have  domain name also means DNS ...then make its entry as welll}

i.e if suppoise ur DOMAINNAME is mysite.com..,&  if ur SQUID as well as DNS server is same... then change the entry like this
#vi /etc/hosts

# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain   localhost
192.168.100.199   mysite.com                   ns1

It will work perfectly if u made above entries...


{  when u make entry in /etc/hosts file... , then the hostname must be true  }


if u dont know ur hostname .., try the command
#hostname

it will show ur hostname....


Bye
Gaurav[

Offline vlinux1

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Thanks A lot Gaurav
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2005, 12:53:54 PM »
Hi Gaurav,

i made this entry
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost ns1

its working fine but this entry is not working

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.100.199ns1
 its ok.

Thanks for your quick reply.

I want to know about u where r u from.

i am from pune.


bye
vijay

Offline gauravbajaj

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
Squid Error Urgent
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2005, 04:59:36 PM »
Ok dear
it means ur Squid problem got solved.....,means ur Squid is working fine..

I m  from Chandigarh

Gaurav