April 20, 2024, 03:34:24 PM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Newbie ifconfig eth0 problem.  (Read 5202 times)

Offline lugoteehalt

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • BestiaryOfThePit
Newbie ifconfig eth0 problem.
« on: March 18, 2004, 12:31:32 PM »
Doing 'ifconfig' shows lo - nothing about eth0: should there be?

Doing 'ifconfig eth0 up' followed by 'ifconfig' gives both lo and eth0. If this is what should happen how can eth0 be made 'up' during startup? - assume this is necessary since I only have one keyboard between the two computers I'm trying to connect.

Thanks any help.

Offline neo

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • http://www.investorsgain.com
Newbie ifconfig eth0 problem.
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2004, 01:42:25 PM »
my eth0 gets activated at startup always...
i have done it by....... logging as root
Code: [Select]
setup going to "system services" and then selecting the service  "network"  it automatically starts with that, every time i boot.

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Newbie ifconfig eth0 problem.
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2004, 02:10:43 PM »
lugo!!
What distro u are using ?
If it is redhat or redhat similar then u can add a line to /etc/rc.d/rc.local like
Code: [Select]
ifconfig eth0 <desired ip> netmask <desired netmask usually 255.255.255.0> upand it will start and will get an adress assigned to it automatically..

Offline lugoteehalt

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • BestiaryOfThePit
Newbie ifconfig eth0 problem.
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2004, 02:28:58 PM »
Hello Ricky! - bloody hell I didn't expect networking's Mike Tyson.

Am using Debian Potato.

Thanks both - will try both things.

 :D

Offline lugoteehalt

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • BestiaryOfThePit
Newbie ifconfig eth0 problem.
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2004, 10:40:42 AM »
For referrence:

On Debian get ethernet, nic, cards up on startup by changing the /etc/network/interfaces file - think that's the one. It's the file that ifup and ifdown read. Yes:
# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)

# The loopback interface
iface lo inet loopback

#lugo added the next block.
iface eth0 inet static
            address 192.168.1.1
            netmask 255.255.255.0

The cards then come up on startup. :)