December 20, 2014, 07:58:28 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy  (Read 167659 times)

Offline tomamodi

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
ok
« Reply #75 on: August 18, 2004, 07:00:00 PM »
It means restart didnt reconfigure the changes in squid.conf?

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #76 on: August 19, 2004, 05:52:49 AM »
NO.. it do.. every time squid restart it checks squid.conf !!

Offline tomamodi

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #77 on: August 19, 2004, 08:49:58 AM »
GOTIT

Offline tomamodi

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #78 on: August 24, 2004, 03:28:51 AM »
where have to put the information to run squid on restart automaticly
rc.d/local  or ?

Offline tomamodi

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #79 on: August 24, 2004, 03:58:16 AM »
ricky is it possible to put  four dns in this squid.conf
 and i fined this for offline work did i put in squid.conf
offline_mode on

Offline tomamodi

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #80 on: August 25, 2004, 03:16:03 AM »
i have three proxy settings from my isp  
212.26.70.41
212.26.70.48
212.26.70.36
some times one not work we change the next
So how i put this three in squid to go through
thanks

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #81 on: August 25, 2004, 12:19:28 PM »
you can do this by using parent and sibling option
cache_peer 212.26.70.41      parent    3128  no-query
cache_peer 212.26.70.48      sibling   3128  no-query
cache_peer 212.26.70.36         sibling   3128  no-query

well if your isp proxy don't support ICP then you have to specify all as parent

use cache_peer 212.26.70.36         parent   3128  no-query default

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #82 on: August 25, 2004, 12:37:29 PM »
Quote from: "tomamodi"
ricky is it possible to put  four dns in this squid.conf
 and i fined this for offline work did i put in squid.conf
offline_mode on

Well to this answer see this link
 linuxdevcenter.com/pub/a/linux/2001/08/02/offline_squid.html

Offline tallship

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • http://NorthTech.US
Re: Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #83 on: September 12, 2004, 08:58:01 AM »
Quote from: "Ricky"

(b) Making squid work in Transparent way


Hi Ricky :) (or anyone else who knows...)

What about this?

Code: [Select]

#  TAG: redirect_rewrites_host_header
#       By default Squid rewrites any Host: header in redirected
#       requests.  If you are running an accelerator then this may
#       not be a wanted effect of a redirector.
#
#Default:
# redirect_rewrites_host_header on


What are the ramifications of leaving this on verses turning it off - both wrt performance and otherwise? Suggestions? Recommendations?

.

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #84 on: September 12, 2004, 11:47:46 AM »
Well i have never altered such.. but wht it says is that turn it off when using accelerater ..

But that is using may !!  well I will look around for it. .if found something important then will tell you!

Offline khanduja75

  • New Member
  • Posts: 1
How to get the mails from POP3 Server
« Reply #85 on: October 02, 2004, 06:07:36 PM »
I am running SQUID Proxy on Redhat 9 Linux. But I am unable to get my POP3 mails through Outlook Express on my Client machine, which is having Win2000. Which Port are used for connecting to POP3 & SMTP mail server? What is the configuration for it(on Linux & Windows). Please help.
Thanks
Regards
khanduja75

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Configuring Squid Proxy server & Transparent Proxy
« Reply #86 on: October 03, 2004, 06:25:00 AM »
khanduja.. this is the most common problem which people faced while using squid, you can either make squid completely transparent or do port forwarding only for port 25 and port 110 !

Well what all you need is to dig around this forum! there is lot which has been discussed here already !

Offline ben_linux

  • New Member
  • Posts: 2
New to Squid
« Reply #87 on: October 16, 2004, 10:16:32 AM »
Hello to all,
Firstly, thank you everyone for excellent information which you have been posting over the past few months.  They are truely helpful!  I am new to squid and have a couple of quick and general questions before working myself up the ladder:

 I am currently running squid on my laptop (redhat vs. 8.0).  I have set http_port 80.  I currently do not have a network.  Is it still possible to configure squid and my webbrowser to perform caching as I am visiting web pages on my laptop?

I have already tried configuring my webbrowser after I followed the basic recommended changes on the squid.conf file.  In my webbrowser (Mozilla or Netscape) I clicked on Edit --> preferences --> advanced --> proxies and changed http proxy to 192.168.0.1 and the port to 80.  When I click ok and try to open a webpage, I get a "bad request: 400".  

I am probably doing somthing totally wrong, hence I decided to ask you folks.  I just want to know if I can run squid and cache in webpages on a stand alone prior to creating a network.

Thank you all!

Offline ben_linux

  • New Member
  • Posts: 2
aclParseIPData
« Reply #88 on: October 16, 2004, 10:23:04 AM »
by the way, when I run squid I see the following warning:

aclParseIpData: WARNING: Netmask masks away part of the specified IP in '192.168.0.1/255.255.255.0'

what does this mean exactly? now mind you I have the following line on  squid.conf eventhough I dont have a network mynet.  Should I just comment this line out:


                                 acl mynet src 192.168.0.1/255.255.255.0

Thanks again!
ben

Offline tomamodi

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
Re: aclParseIPData
« Reply #89 on: October 23, 2004, 06:18:23 AM »
Quote from: "ben_linux"
by the way, when I run squid I see the following warning:

aclParseIpData: WARNING: Netmask masks away part of the specified IP in '192.168.0.1/255.255.255.0'


 make it                        

acl mynet src 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0