September 21, 2021, 04:57:25 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Configuring 2 Ethernet Cards in RHL 9.0  (Read 13290 times)

Offline ty_young

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Configuring 2 Ethernet Cards in RHL 9.0
« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2004, 02:17:58 AM »
Today I finally make my Linux Box works after weeks of effort. It took my quite a while to realise that the problem I had all along was my 3Com (3c905c-TX) doing. Even though I tested this card on other Microsoft machine and it works like a charm but on my Linux, It's been giving me one hell of time.

Long Story cut short, it seems that my 3Com (eth0) card has compatibility issue with RHL 9.0. Either if you put in a 2nd 3Com card or other brand (in my case Realtek), then the 3Com would generate error especially pinging. I was able to ping myself and I also double check my configuration, it is all alright. But not to the outside. So next time, any of you using 3Com NIC, beware of this issue.

and I would like to express my gratitude to you, Ricky, for your advices and support. Man, you rock!

Offline zaved

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
DNS problem with two NICs
« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2005, 09:52:43 AM »
I have a weird problem concerning two NICs. My eth0 is connected to the ISP and the second one is connected to the local area network.
When I put the second NIC down, the ISP link works fine (i.e the DNS works) but when the second one is up, I can't get the DNS.

Here is the configuration

for eth0

IP: ISP assigned IP
Netmask: ISP assigned mask
gateway: ISP gateway


for eth1

IP: 192.168.50.230
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.10.10.254

My /etc/resolv.conf contains two addresses assigned by the ISP as their DNS server (static)

While both of the NICs are up, only then the DNS doesnt work though both the networks do fine.

Any idea?

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Configuring 2 Ethernet Cards in RHL 9.0
« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2005, 01:28:29 PM »
Quote
IP: 192.168.50.230
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.10.10.254

Here  for your second NIC set gateway as none!

Offline zaved

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Configuring 2 Ethernet Cards in RHL 9.0
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2005, 04:25:17 AM »
Quote from: "Ricky"
Quote
IP: 192.168.50.230
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.10.10.254

Here  for your second NIC set gateway as none!

Thanks Ricky, you are absolutely right. But the fact is, now I can't get into the network those were accessed through my eth1. I mean, there is another network connected through eth1 and to get into that I need the getway. The scenario is as below:

1. From outside I get connected to Server through the public IP (assigned by the ISP) assigned in eth0
2. eth1 should have an internal IP (192.168.50.200) and connected to a local domain.
3. Through eth1 I need to connect to another server (192.168.0.240). But for that I need the gateway 192.168.50.250.

Now, as I can't set the gateway for my eth1, I can't get access to 192.168.0.240.

Is there anyway I can work this one out?

Offline Arora

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Configuring 2 Ethernet Cards in RHL 9.0
« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2005, 10:38:59 AM »
You can connect as many network you wish, but for each network you must set default gateway from the network itself.

I can give you further solutions if you can explain your problem in detail.

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Configuring 2 Ethernet Cards in RHL 9.0
« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2005, 10:43:36 AM »
What you do to connect to 192.168.50.250 !

May be then I can help !

Offline zaved

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Configuring 2 Ethernet Cards in RHL 9.0
« Reply #21 on: January 17, 2005, 11:50:22 AM »
hmm
Here is my netstat -nr command output when i delete the gateway for my eth1:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
203.76.105.0    0.0.0.0            255.255.255.192 U         0 0          0 eth0
192.168.50.0    0.0.0.0            255.255.255.0     U         0 0          0 eth1
169.254.0.0      0.0.0.0            255.255.0.0        U         0 0          0 eth0
127.0.0.0         0.0.0.0            255.0.0.0            U         0 0          0 lo
0.0.0.0            203.76.105.1     0.0.0.0             UG        0 0          0 eth0


Here is my netstat -nr command output when I add both the gateways


Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
203.76.105.0    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.192 U         0 0          0 eth0
192.168.50.0    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 eth1
169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U         0 0          0 eth1
127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U         0 0          0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.50.254  0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth1

I can't see the gateway information for my ISP.
And when I try to add a route request, it's giving me an error of:

no host associated with name.