December 12, 2017, 05:50:48 PM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: /var/log/squid dir  (Read 6390 times)

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« on: September 16, 2004, 12:42:58 PM »
Hi all,

i m running linux+squid+transparent proxy server.

can anybody tell me few things :

1. should/can i remove files of /var/log/squid dir frequently??

2. I have 128 mb ram.
    what should be setting in squid.conf for
    cache_mem
    maximum_object_size
    cache_dir

3. how to optimize the speed at clients?

thanks in advance..

nilesh 0091-98252 45551

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2004, 03:12:43 PM »
well..you can disable logs .. see my squid.conf example files at tutorial section.

128 for RH9 and SQuid ? right !!
then you should keep only 8 mb of RAM

max.. object size.. i keep 4096 but only if you have 40 or less clients .. for more clients it shold be lesser.

Hmm.. there are several techniques to speed up squid.. but first you should increase your RAM.. i think better look out net.. btw.. tehre is a link i don't remeber .. which is very good.. will tell you when i will came across it.

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2004, 06:32:23 AM »
Hey Ricky

thanks again.....

i will check out the example file at tutorial section.

but i've got one problem now..

after running for 1-2 hr.... the i can not brows any sites from browser.

what i have kept IE/Netscape settings as proxy and using yahoo as no proxy connection.

do u require cache.log history for that?

thanks & regards

nilesh

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2004, 02:10:09 PM »
cache.log is to see that what is the problem there.. when it crashed or whatever..

So now as u are not able to browse sites after 1-2 hrs then I might want to look few last lines of your cache.log say last 15 lines.. so that i can evaluate the cause and can give solution.

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2004, 08:43:37 AM »
Hey Ricky,

i've removed the fireware temporarily and now checking the settings..

When it will  stop browsing, i will send u the  tail of cache.log file.

further, after NAT settings i can view webcam of other side but the voice chat can not b started from client pc in yahoo. so what could be the problem?

best regards

nilesh
0091-98252 45551

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2004, 10:42:51 AM »
connect yahoo messenger directly through NAT

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2004, 07:24:33 AM »
it is...

i've given No proxy in yahoo msnger prereferences...

is that ok..?

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2004, 10:56:26 AM »
yes that is oK.. hmm then check if you have any firewall configured on your linux machine .... may be not in you have not noticed that!

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2004, 06:12:18 AM »
there is no firewall configured.. in my linux server as well in adsl setup also. i 've verified it again...

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2004, 02:44:25 PM »
try other combination of yahoo connection preference.. there are four. try all combination!

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2004, 11:15:12 AM »
ok its set to No proxy...

but when i set my IE/Netscape preferences to No proxy... then its working fine... strange....!!!! rite...

now we have decided for server upgrade...

RH8+squid is there in server
its PII, 128 mb ram... and 20 gb hdd...
the input DSL speed is shared 128 kbps...

if i want to have total 50 windows client... what  upgradation is  required.??

is it possbile to  allote, speed for each nodes..specifically...?

thanks

regards

nilesh

0091-98252 45551

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2004, 09:19:11 AM »
well.. yahoo uses IE setting for its most of the job, only for few works it uses its own settings. anyway..

For 50 machines your pII should be atleast 300mhz or greater, RAM, get atleast 256 mb , b'coz RH8 alone needs around 64 mb RAM in TEXT mode to work flawlessly with most of the services running.

Ya you can have speed set for specific clients , it can be achieved throuh delay pools, dig few last posts of mine this forum related to that !

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #12 on: September 27, 2004, 07:33:50 AM »
ok ...
many many thanks Ricky...

will inform you soon after upgrading the system...

thanks again,

best regards

nilesh

Offline nkhetia

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 24
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2004, 10:12:02 AM »
Hey Ricky,

I am back after short vacation.  Now we have  upgraded server ram to 512 mb. server is having rh9+squid+nat.

so please tell me ...(1) how to allot time for each user? For example The time allotment can be total 2 hrs in a day or from  11.00 am to 12.00 am and then 4.00 pm to 5.00 pm for particular user.

(2) net-speed  control for each user.

(3) Speed of inactive client should be alloted to others.

kindly tell me, such control is avaible in squid.?

best regards

nilesh

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
/var/log/squid dir
« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2004, 10:40:57 AM »
Well..

All 1st and second can be done easily with squid but about last one.. I am not sure.

About 1st one.. defining time then
Code: [Select]
  # below line defines that which has to be restrict during the time slot
acl usertoblock src 192.168.1.15
   # It defines on what time
acl midday time 11:00-14:00
   # below instruct squid to deny userblock at the time midday which have defined earlier
http_access deny usertoblock midday
   # Lastly we are saying that allow that user to access net apart of the specified time.
http_access allow usertoblock
here in above you can block certain user to not to have access for 3 hrs that is from 11 am to 2:00 pm
You can also make list of users or make whole network.

For second thing you have to learn delay pools, actually delay pools are easy but you have to lots of experiments to understand them, right now I can't remember exact way implementing so better you look out some delay pool guid on net or best is look squid.conf.default :)
PS: you have to make separate delay pool for each user to limit bandwidth for them.

Third one is also about delay pools, plz do read articles about delay pools and you will understand.

Also look this post Squid delay pools