March 28, 2024, 08:58:30 PM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..

Author Topic: Plz Help me on my HDD problem  (Read 8703 times)

Offline sabusomu

Plz Help me on my HDD problem
« on: April 12, 2004, 07:16:35 PM »
I am really new to Linux and thought that u guys might help me out on my problem. Plz read on to know about my problem indetail.
I own a P III 500 Mhz, 256 MB SD Ram, 30 GB (Master) and 10 GB HDDs.
I use Windows 98. Installed Mandrake Linux 8 a year earlier and used its automatic partion feature to partion the 10 GB drive. After deleting those mandrake Linux partiontions I am getting a dissk error.
Windows98 and Partition Magic reports my 10 GB drive as only 7.5 GB. But when installed WinXP it was able to recover the total disk space and that 2.5 GB as a separate partion. I can even work in this 2.5 GB from both 98 and XP. But PM still showing that there are some errors in my drive. PM Partion Info gives following info about that disk:

ucBeginCylinder (1253) must be less than 1024.
Error #109: Partition ends after end of disk.
  ucEndCylinder (1321) must be less than 1024.

===============================================Disk Geometry Information for Disk 2:    1024 Cylinders,  240 Heads,  63 Sectors/Track
System              PartSect  # Boot BCyl Head Sect  FS    ECyl Head Sect    StartSect     NumSects
===============================================
NO NAME                    0  0  00     0    1    1  0B     751  239   63           63   11,370,177
                           0  1  80   752    0    1  83     846  239   63   11,370,240    1,436,400
                           0  2  00   847    0    1  83    1023  239   63   12,806,640    6,138,720
Info: End C,H,S values were large drive placeholders.
  Actual values are:
        0  2  00    847    0    1  83   1252  239   63  12806640   6138720
  ucEndCylinder (1252) must be less than 1024.
                           0  3  00  1023  239   63  0F    1023  239   63   18,945,360    1,058,400