December 18, 2017, 08:59:23 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone  (Read 6553 times)

Offline mohitmoudgil

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« on: May 24, 2004, 11:13:27 AM »
Sir
I have a Relience LST 250 i.e a blue and white terminal offered by releince .Now my problem is that i am unable to use internet on Fedora Core 1 Linux(already tested on various other distros) , as there are no drivers for linux accompained with it.I have searched whole of the internet but i could only find tutorials to use relience mobile phone but what i have is not mobile phone.

Plz help me out

Thanks in advance
Mohit

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2004, 11:52:35 AM »
well there is command line software available on reliance website.. did u tried that ?

Offline mohitmoudgil

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2004, 11:01:49 AM »
can u tell me the link

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2004, 11:41:45 AM »
relianceinfo.com/Infocomm/html/rservices/rservices_linux_rconnect.html

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2004, 09:12:29 AM »
You can also see this page Reliance phone in Linux

Offline mohitmoudgil

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2004, 08:20:56 AM »
Sir
it is still not working.When i use the reliance command line tool i recieve the error message "Modem Not found".I have already activated the phone.

Offline sashijoseph

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2004, 11:22:03 AM »
Here is what I found.Please try and see.

I use wvdial instead of the official client for connecting to the Net using the FWP. I have tried to use kppp for this purpose, and have got very little success. The rest of this section explains how to connect using wvdial.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 I used stty /dev/ttyS0 115200 (replace the port with the one you are using) to set the speed of the port to be used. You might not need it.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In /etc/ppp/options I have:

    lock
    asyncmap 0
    crtscts
    modem
    defaultroute
    usepeerdns
    name reliance
    noauth
    mtu 264
    debug
   
In /etc/ppp/pap-secrets I have:

     "XXXXXXXXXX"  reliance  "XXXXXXXXXX"
   
Where XXXXXXXXXX is my phone number in the form STD-code + phonenumber. e.g. a Delhi(STD code 011) phone number YYYYYYYY, should have 11YYYYYYYY in the place of XXXXXXXXXX above.

In /etc/wvdial.conf I have:

    [Dialer Defaults]
    Modem = /dev/ttyS0
    Baud = 115200
    Init1 = AT+crm=1;$LGPKT=3
    ISDN = 0
    Modem Type = Analog Modem
    Phone = #777
    Username = XXXXXXXXXX
    Password = XXXXXXXXXX
    Stupid Mode = 1
   
Remember to use the phone number in the format explaned earlier in place of XXXXXXXXXX in the file given above.
Run wvdial as root to connect to the net, or alternatively give sudo permission to specific users to run wvdial using their own accounts.

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Problem using Internet on Linux using Reliance phone
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2004, 01:50:36 PM »
Quote from: "mohitmoudgil"
Sir
it is still not working.When i use the reliance command line tool i recieve the error message "Modem Not found".I have already activated the phone.

Just check your cable !!