December 13, 2017, 09:17:43 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: remote server is down,help needed?  (Read 2388 times)

Offline aparna8877

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
remote server is down,help needed?
« on: December 31, 2011, 06:07:17 AM »
Hi, I need your help friends.

Actually,the remote server in U.S.A is down. How to bring it UP IN linux ?

Can anybody give me the steps to bring the server UP.

Regards,
Aparna.


Offline LS-Admin

  • Administrator
  • Linux Learner
  • *****
  • Posts: 109
Re: remote server is down,help needed?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2011, 06:46:28 AM »
If you can't ping it , you can't SSH into it then I am afraid you can't bring it back. You need to contact data center in US to get it back.

Offline aparna8877

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: remote server is down,help needed?
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2011, 07:40:39 AM »
Hi, I never faced this Issue in realtime.

actually this was the question asked by the interviewer in my Interview for a Job.

He was expecting the answer in some other way like...connecting our system to some ILOM or anything.....and making the remote server locally and bringing the server UP.

I don't how exactly in real the server is brought UP in realtime in organizations.

So,can anybody help me the procedure to follow to bring the server UP.


Offline LS-Admin

  • Administrator
  • Linux Learner
  • *****
  • Posts: 109
Re: remote server is down,help needed?
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2011, 08:04:27 AM »
If your datacenter has attached Remote console server or KVM device to your server then you can access it remotely as if you are accessing it locally, then you can reboot, troubleshoot or install new OS in it (provided that you have access to OS images) . I have done few times when datacenter was not able to resolve few issue with a server and it was not booting .

Offline aparna8877

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: remote server is down,help needed?
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2012, 08:09:35 AM »
but i need the steps to connect to the remote console...and how to bring the server locally...

please need your help...


I went through one of the website :http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/kvm-over-ip.html

This website shows the KVM Process...

Is this the right answer to my question.

How KVM Device is used to attache remote server ?

Can you please explain me...friend.



regards,
aparna.

« Last Edit: January 01, 2012, 02:16:08 PM by aparna8877 »

Offline gauravbajaj

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
Re: remote server is down,help needed?
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2012, 06:08:53 AM »
You can manage servers remotly either via

1) KVM switch (Its already explained in link which u posted)

2) Via DRAC ( specific for Dell) , ILO ( HP) , IBM also have something ( i forgot the name) , These are interface cards which is attached to the serv. You just need to plug seprate serial cable to that card/port.
 These card have separate network, memory, power etc. Its independent of the Production network

While configuring DRAC u have to give it own IP , you can access it via web-browser http://ip-of-drac or access by dns name ( if its added in DNS)


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dell_DRAC

Configuration is easy. Some of them are configured during boot up i.e BIOS. boot will show which keys needs to be pressed to configure ILO/DRAC.  It will ask you IP, name , subnet etc . Thats all