March 29, 2024, 08:42:27 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..

Author Topic: Transparent PROXY NOT working on Fedora  (Read 7317 times)

Offline mchenhl

• Linux Noob !
Transparent PROXY NOT working on Fedora
« on: April 04, 2004, 09:45:37 AM »
Hi everyone.

I am Penguin newbie. I just installed Fedora Core 1 and Squid 2.5 Stable5. IE works when I setup the browser to port 3128 directly only.

My problem is to get the transparent proxy working. checked the log doesnt shows any activity.

The linux box isn't the gateway. is that the problem? the gateway is the cisco PIX firewall.
The linux box is sitting on a Windows domain.

do i need to recompile the kernel to setup netfilter. how do i check? i am not sure as i have no knowledge in compiling the kernel.

The linux box is just sitting to cache web pages.

Tried iptables to redirect port 80 to 3128 doesnt work, the transparent proxy not working. ipforward is set to 1.

what should I do? Browsed all the help on the net. Tried everything.

PLEASE Help.

Penguin

Offline Ricky

• LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2004, 11:20:12 AM »
Well.. if you have seen my tutorial Squid transparent proxy configuration  then you should have noticed that your NAT should be working fine apart of working simple squid proxy. Also ya it requires your Linux Box to be gateway. You can make this..
Code: [Select]
PIX firwall --> Linux Box --> Clients It doesn't matter that is it in windows domain or not. :)

Offline mchenhl

• Linux Noob !
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2004, 12:26:25 AM »
Hi there,

Thanks for quick response. Well, the thing is I dont want all the clients pointing the linux box as a gateway. Your solution meaning it requires 2 network adapter to be a gateway, i just want to make sure.

The network here has a VPN tunnel. It will make life more difficult  from the otherside tunneling back to the network here as NAT and I dont want to reconfigure the PIX again.