April 20, 2014, 09:20:33 PM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Using or Extracting software from Live CD  (Read 2252 times)

Offline tuxi

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« on: February 20, 2004, 05:45:40 PM »
Hi.
I have a Slackware Live CD came along a Linux Mag. Now when i run i found that it has few good software. But i am running RedHat 9 so i decided to copy the software from liveCD to my HD then install but.. But. when i browed the CD there is nothing like source code for those software. I guess they are compressed and stored in the files with extension img. So can Any one tell me how I can use the software came along with LiveCD on my RH9 ?

Thank you!.

Offline dragoncity99

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2004, 06:15:19 PM »
Slackware and Red Hat 9 uses different packaging to deploy and install their softare.

Slackware installs packages with *.tgz extension

Red Hat  intalls packages with *.rpm extension

If u want to install a package from a Red Hat Cd, goto the /RPMS directory where u will see lots of files with extension *.rpm. That's the files. Copy it to ur harddrive run the installation using command "rpm -i filename.rpm"


For ur information, Slackware is able to convert rpm packages to tgz format. :)

Offline tuxi

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2004, 08:32:20 AM »
Actually i kno that .rpm are used by rh and slack uses tarbal.. .But problem is that when i looked into slack live cd i was not able to find any tar file.. Only found img files some system files.. nothing else.. I think tarfiles are compressed and stored in .img files so is there any idea i can look inside the img files ?

Offline dragoncity99

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2004, 08:46:26 AM »
Is it some kind of cd image? If i'm not wrong there are cd images with *.img extendsion. I havent really tried before mounting these format. But i do know the if in Windoze u can use Daemon to mount this format if it's a cd image like those ISOs.

Try this command to check see if it mounts:

mount filename.img -o loop /mnt/image


Remember this? :)
mount filename.iso -o loop /mnt/image

Offline aaa

  • Tux Awared
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2004, 05:59:13 PM »
The live cds have an image of a linux hd on them. They are often compressed, and '-o loop' won't work on the compressed ones. I doubt you'll be able to access it, and even if you could, it would be like trying to exchange files between two ordinary hd-based distros. You may be able to get away copying small stuff, but the bigger apps will be confused and not work, because RH and Slack put stuff in different places.
You will not find source, tgz, or rpm on the cd because all the software is already installed and including their pacakges would waste space

Offline dragoncity99

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2004, 12:15:21 AM »
Is it possible that this is a version of Slack that is working something like Knoppix and all u have to do is burn the image on a CD-R and boot it up to make it run?

If tis is the case, well i think there will be no more packages for u to extract from for installation.

Offline aaa

  • Tux Awared
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2004, 10:51:44 PM »
It is a live cd like Knoppix.
Copying files from theindividually will not work, see previous post.
You will have to download the Red Hat rpm's for the software you want. See http://freshmeat.net

Offline dragoncity99

  • LST CareTaker
  • Experienced
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
Using or Extracting software from Live CD
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2004, 07:09:04 AM »
That's SLAX ok. :)

Haven't really try it. Will be trying soon.