April 20, 2024, 01:02:50 PM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..

Author Topic: I Need Help With Fedora Core 5  (Read 4211 times)

Offline Serdal

I Need Help With Fedora Core 5
« on: May 20, 2006, 04:21:27 PM »
Hello, I am Serdal. I had been using windows since 2000 and it is time for me to immigrate to this great system, Linux. I had heard about Linux mid 90's but unfortunately I never had opportunity nor time to experience and enjoy this unique OS. Nowadays I began searching for a good alternative which is stable, rich, and free of viruses which is my biggest problem. All of my searches leaded me to Linux. Then I decided to start using this nice system.

I used Mandrake Linux 10.1 ,  Ubuntu  Linux 5.10,   and now I have installed Fedora Core 5 to my PC. I liked and found Fedora Core 5 easier than others. I would like to mention to you about my system: PC,   AMD Sempron (tm) 2800,   2 GHz CPU,   736 MB SD-RAM Memory,   LG  DVD+RW,   LG  CD-RW,   Floppy Drive,   80 GB Hard Drive,   Lexmark X1150 All-in-one printer/scanner/copier.

These are the difficulties I am experiencing with Linux:
1- I download Yahoo messenger (I choose Red Hat 9???) and then I can not install/run it.
2- I download Hotmail messenger and I can not install/run it.
3- I can not run any of my softwares from CD.
4- I can not print anything.
5- I can not view my floppy disk.
6- I can not view my memory stick. (Excalibur – 64 MB)
7- I can not watch nor back-up (copy) my DVD movies. I have not tried VCD yet.
8- I tried to play an avi movie but the message said “ Totem could not play file '.....' “ One time, it said “You don't have decoder to handle this”. Then I continued with some other avi movies and it played two of them, but there was sound only but not picture.
9- I tried to play an mp3 song but the message said “The player does not have the capabilities to play back this content”. If I am not mistaken, this is Helix player.