April 25, 2024, 11:59:08 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..

Author Topic: An isp Server  (Read 4520 times)

Offline FNC

• Linux Noob !
An isp Server
« on: March 03, 2006, 03:22:56 PM »
Hello every body,
well i am a newbie here and a newbie to the linux world. i ressel internet in my area. i have an uplink from a local isp and a downlink via satellite i am using a pent@net dvb card for this. my up isp did a routing for my downlink connection so i only is ip address no vpn or proxy for the downlink.i used to have a windows 2003 machine and isa 2004 installed on it to serve my costumers. well but now the range of our costumers gone wide about 700+ costumers.so i am thing of doing my server in a more professional way and i am thinking of using linux os.How many machines i should use for the and which linux distro is better i want to. could the same machine that i have the internet on it act as a proxy server and a dns or should i split every machine for a specific use. well any advice or link to howto or tuturials i will aprreciate it. Thanks to all in advance

Offline Ricky

• LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
An isp Server
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2006, 07:03:17 PM »
700+ is a nice Number and I think you should use caching at your level.

BTW.. a decent machine (good hardware ) can still handle 700+ connections effectively. But in such case I would tried to split tast to 2 or more nodes, heavy tasks like caching would be on one node and other small task on other node. There are software available in linux like smoothwall which can do all your work without having litle knowledge of linux.
Give that a try !

Offline FNC

• Linux Noob !
An isp Server
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2006, 10:16:04 AM »
hello ricky:
thanks for ur reply and it seems that ur the most active person in this forum.