June 25, 2018, 04:29:55 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Installation prob  (Read 2964 times)

Offline sathish

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
Installation prob
« on: September 24, 2005, 03:38:24 PM »
Hi Linux team,

I am try to install redh linux 9.0 in compaq proliant 1600 server [SCSI drive], while installation itz goes  upto scsi driver after that itz probing for VGA card and next monitor - it gives the result upto unknown monitor and then it hangs..  tried 3-4 times.. it is hanging at the sample place.

monitor is - LG 15".

can anybody solve the prob ?? i am stuck in this place...


Thanks in advance,

Sathish.

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Installation prob
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2005, 06:25:16 PM »
you mean when it probes card then its ok but on probing  card it get hanged ?

Offline sathish

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
installation prob
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2005, 10:59:40 AM »
Hi ricky,

it probing card itz ok itz here successful... . while probing monitor itz give next UNKNOWN MONITOR and then hangs... next step is not going.. ??


Thanks


Satheesh

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Installation prob
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2005, 06:36:50 PM »
very odd..  I would suggest trying another monitor for a while.

Offline partha6794

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 17
hi
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2005, 07:15:49 AM »
hi there,

I have LG 17'' monitor. when i was install RHL 9.0 , i  wasnot suffer  to install it. but i canot understand  why it happen with  your monitor . You must be cheack your media. otherwise
you have to change your monitor.



                                                                                              partha

Offline anil_garg5

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
Installation prob
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2005, 11:53:45 AM »
I have also faced this problem before while installing Redhat 8 in GUI mode.
But I had o successfully installed  it the text mode.

For this, when booted from first CD ,
write
 : linux text
 at the boot screen.
All the steps are as normal installation. and  after installtion system will be booted in GUI mode if configured to do so.

sometimes, GUI installation cause problem due to some problem in RAM, but we can avoid that error if we install it the text mode.