November 15, 2019, 12:33:00 AM

News : LinuxSolved.com Linux Help Community Forum..


Author Topic: Yahoo Messenger Trouble  (Read 13059 times)

Offline neo

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • http://www.investorsgain.com
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« on: January 28, 2004, 01:53:58 PM »
i had downloaded the yahoo messenger and i could log in for the first time
but now if i try to run it, it gives "Segmentation Fault"
How do i tackle the problem?
help

Offline dalek

  • LST CareTaker
  • Crescent
  • *****
  • Posts: 242
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2004, 05:53:13 AM »
Unless you are having hard drive problems, I would re-install and get a fresh start.  That usually means something is corrupt, some file or something.

Try that and see if it does it again.  May want to grab the latest version while you are at it.

Later

 :D  :D  :D  :D

taraj

  • Guest
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2004, 06:35:16 AM »
It was happened to me also few days ago.. I tried to remove ymessnger rpm and again reinstalled but that was no use.. I think it is due to improper dependencies..

Now i using Ymessenger but Now i have Redhat 9, earlier i had Redhat 8..

Offline dalek

  • LST CareTaker
  • Crescent
  • *****
  • Posts: 242
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2004, 06:38:47 AM »
That upgrade may help.  They change that thing pretty regular.  Keeps those programers on their toes.

Glad you got it going, even happier that you got a newer Linux.   :!:  :!:

Later

 :D  :D  :D  :D

Offline neo

  • Linux Learner
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • http://www.investorsgain.com
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2004, 03:24:52 PM »
i think i solved the problem
i downloaded the messenger for rhl 8.0 and it is working fine

Offline davido

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2004, 02:26:59 AM »
I took a gamble and used the RH RPM on Mandrake 9.2 but still get the segmentation fault. I heard a whisper that there was a file that could be manually edited or deleted to get around this. Anybody know of that or have other suggestions?

I've regressed to using the Windows version.  :-(

thanks
David

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2004, 02:32:52 PM »
Why dont you use KOPETE ?? It is good . take look at that BTW. you cant use Yahoo chat in Ymessenger client so you have to use gyach...
download kopete today and u can use yahoo..

Offline davido

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2004, 09:58:07 PM »
Until now I'd never heard of Kopete. I'm downloading it for a look.

Thanks
David

Offline davido

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2004, 10:34:12 PM »
Downloaded, made and  installed ok, except I can't see anyway to configure it to use a proxy/firewall. I clicked connect and it hung.

Have you used this through a firewall and/or proxy?

thanks
David

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2004, 06:35:47 AM »
Well, ya I noticed that it has no system of configuring to use it behind proxy but as I think it is part of KDE system you can use it behind proxy by configuring your system ( koquerer ) to use proxy.. Try that and tell us!!

Offline davido

  • Linux Noob !
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2004, 07:06:21 AM »
Not sure if this will appear twice or not... something weird happened

Konqueror is already configured to access the web via the proxy and firewall here. Unless it looks at Mozilla or something...  I don't use that. I'll set that up with the same proxy info and see what happens.  Planning to install Mandrake 10 tomorrow... who knows, maybe that will help

cheers
David

Offline manplaysgod

  • New Member
  • Posts: 1
segmentation fault in yahoo messenger
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2004, 05:56:14 AM »
I had the same segmentation fault error.What i did was delete the .ymessenger folder
.This is a hidden directory.Try erasing the rpm.Restart your pc and type ymessenger on the cmdLine.This worked for me> I hope it works for you guys.

Offline deepkiss

  • New Member
  • Posts: 1
About Messenger clients...
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2004, 05:15:46 PM »
I was wondering if u could help. I seem to have a problem with Kopete. It worked fine until i changed the appearance. Now it just asks for the password. I write it ok, but it still says it's wrong and it doesn't login. I use it instead of yahoo messenger, because i am using Mandrake. I heard Gaim is OK. Can u please help me? I really need to use the messenger as soon as possible. Thank you

Offline manub686

  • New Member
  • Posts: 1
Yahoo Messenger Trouble
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2004, 06:09:47 PM »
I am able to run yahoo messenger as root, but with a user account, I get a segmentation fault the ymessenger does not run. I am using Mandrake9.1 and ymessenger for RH9 and also tried the version for RH8, with same results. This did not happen in RH9 (naturally). What should I do?
Regards.

Offline Ricky

  • LST CareTaker
  • Specially Skilled
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
Re: segmentation fault in yahoo messenger
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2004, 06:03:51 AM »
@Manu
Did you tried the following posted by manplaysgod ?

Quote from: "manplaysgod"
I had the same segmentation fault error.What i did was delete the .ymessenger folder
.This is a hidden directory.Try erasing the rpm.Restart your pc and type ymessenger on the cmdLine.This worked for me> I hope it works for you guys.